Reviews

image722

Reviews for When the River Runs Dry


LaDonna McCall

5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you on a journey of the heart.....

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020


This story touched me in a way no other has touched me. If you have lost someone you loved deeply, this story will minister to you. The story is beautifully written. The inspiration is obviously given from the Holy Spirit in order for the author to understand the hurt and grief that one experiences in the face of losing a piece of your own heart. But no matter what, the Father won't leave you. He sticks around through all the anger and questions and keeps on loving and working towards your healing and future. Please read the first book, Grace Like A River Flows if you haven't already. Then this is the 2nd book in the series. You will read two of the best books that will touch your heart and soul. I highly recommend these books.

I received an advanced copy for my truthful review of this book. All opinions are my own.


Eldon Overstreet: God's Spirit heals the Dry River 5 stars

5.0 out of 5 stars God's Spirit heals the Dry River

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020


Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020

This is a story of one person’s grief journey, how it affected others and how God wonderfully heals depression and restores life and hope. It deals with the question: what do you do when death unexpectedly takes a loved one and your River of Spirit runs dry? How do you move on? This story is about how the grief journey is real but also how God can and does bring healing and hope. Lots of side stories that are all about God at work in the world to solve our problems. Good development of lovable characters. This great read is an inspiring, wonderful story of God’s love and how God does not give up on us until we are back home with Him.

One person found this helpful


Donna K

5.0 out of 5 stars We've all been there

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020


This is a stand alone story but I highly recommend that you first read Grace Like a River Flows by the same author. Sometimes we feel surrounded by and bathed in God's grace. Other times we are brought to our knees in sorrow, grief, or calamity and we are certain God's river of grace has absolutely dried up. When the River Runs Dry explores these issues with understanding and sensitivity. I have to believe that the author, R. Marshall Wright, has lived in both abundance and seeming scarcity of God's grace because of the emotion with which this story is written. It will touch your heart and if you can get through it with dry eyes, you are stronger than I am. And besides - there is Beasley!


Deanna Mosier

5.0 out of 5 stars Great themes handled in an enjoyable story!

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 202


I enjoyed this sequel to Grace Like a River Flows. After starting this book with a shock, the author shares snippets about each character to help you learn about them or remind you of their part in the first book, so that this book is a stand alone. However, definitely go back and read the first book if you haven’t already. What happens when your river runs dry? Some parts, you will laugh, some parts you might shed a tear or two, some parts you will shout “YES!” Grace, forgiveness, redemption, justice, grief...all included in this very enjoyable story! And everyone remembers Beasley! Read it just to find out who Beasley is...And you will get so much more!


Mike & Jan Geihsler

4.0 out of 5 stars These characters are like friends.

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2020


Book two flows from book 1, Grace Like a River Flows. I did not like the direction the story line went with one of the characters, but all was well by the end of the book. We learned more about the other characters from book 1 and were introduced to a few new ones. It was like catching up with high school friends at a class reunion and finding out what had happened since the last time we visited. Some lines made me laugh out loud and some parts were sad. Very close to a 5 star for a reader who doesn't give many 5 star reviews.


eleanor shaver

5.0 out of 5 stars How GOD helps even in tragic situations.

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020


This story is about tragedy and grief that has ripples that touch a whole community. It tells how GOD is there thru the events offering love and redemption for asking. It tells how GOD used even our pets I. This case sweet Beasley to remind us of HIS love.


Paula Marie

5.0 out of 5 stars I just love this author!

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020


his is one of the absolute BEST sequels I have ever read. This story is so full of Faith and redemption you will be touched to the very core. I completely loved this book!


KarenJD

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story of Grace and Redemption

Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2020


I was honored to be an Advanced Reader for this book. I highly recommend “When the River Runs Dry.” The author, R. Marshall Wright, deals with sensitive subjects in the characters’ lives. You may even find yourself in one of the characters. This book captivated me with its themes of grief, grace and restoration. There is a bit of romance and a lot of suspense. I cried, held my breath in anticipation and laughed throughout the book. Mr. Wright is a master storyteller. Well done!


Ann Ferri

5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST READ book!!

Reviewed in the United States on May 4, 2020


This is a well written book that will touch your heart and soul. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. This is a book everyone should read, not only is it a wonderful story but sweet Beasley will show you how God uses animals as angels to help us. I can't wait for the next book by this author. I received an ARC copy of this book and was not required to write a review. All opinions expressed are my own.I was honored to be an Advanced Reader for this book. I highly recommend “When the River Runs Dry.” The author, R. Marshall Wright, deals with sensitive subjects in the characters’ lives. You may even find yourself in one of the characters. This book captivated me with its themes of grief, grace and restoration. There is a bit of romance and a lot of suspense. I cried, held my breath in anticipation and laughed throughout the book. Mr. Wright is a master storyteller. Well done!


Jennifer MacDonald

5.0 out of 5 stars POWERFUL

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020


To be completely honest, this was my very first book by R. Marshall Wright, and I couldn't put it down. I will be going back to read Grace Like A River Flows, the first in this series. When The River Runs Dry, is such a powerful tool God has used to touch my life and I hope the lives of many others. There are many different messages inside this masterpiece including hope, encouragement, God's love, forgiveness and mercy. I felt connected to Reagan right off, and through the trials that he had to go through to see and understand that God never leaves us nor forsakes us, His love will still endure forever. Reagan had to stop trying to write his own life story (like many of us do) instead of letting the One who created him write it. There's a mighty BIG lesson right there. I hope everyone enjoys, loves and learns from this amazing book as much as I truly did.


Alan D.

5.0 out of 5 stars God is ALWAYS with us!!

Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2020


I was lucky to have had the chance to read this in advance. I had not read the first book in the series, Grace Like a River Flows; however, this does very well as a stand-alone book. I do know that this story takes place 3 years after the original, so it has some of the same characters from the first book, but the characters ae remarkably well developed in this despite the quick transition. We all have situations in our lives where we may not feel like we are worthy of love or even God’s love. This author uses imagery in a way that makes words on a page feel real, and shows us and makes us feel that God is always in control and can heal us in every circumstance.


Vicki Carson

5.0 out of 5 stars Real Life and God's Love!

Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2020

Verified Purchase


This author writes of real situations and God's second chances (or more) so that anyone can understand of God's Love for us.
"Your life hand' t ended. A chapter ended, but I'm still writing your book. And I'd appreciate it if you'd let go of the pen and let ME finish". We need to follow what God's telling us to do and give Him glory. Bless you who read this book, I highly recommend it!!


NeedToRead

5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Book by R. Marshall Wright

Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2020

Verified Purchase


When The River Runs Dry is written in a different tone than Grace Like A River Flows, but one can infer that just from the two titles. This sequel starts out with some things that seem to contradict what was in book 1, but just keep reading and it will all make sense. I appreciated that the crisis of faith was treated honestly, realistically, and not in a trite manner or with platitudes. Can't wait for book 3!


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars Great continuation!

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020


I have fallen in love with the characters of this book! They are flawed, quirky and uniquely lovable. This story of God’s grace and redemption is perfect for these times. Join in on the continuing story of Reagan and the struggles he faces and how it affects the various people of the town of Glencoe including a surprise person from his past. If you haven’t read Grace Like a River Flows, read that first. It will help you understand some important background for this book. I’m looking forward to the third installment in this series!


D. Chatley

4.0 out of 5 stars There’s still hope

Reviewed in the United States on May 3, 2020


Continuation of story that started in Grace Like A River Flows. This book picks up 3 years later and change has set into the small town, and most of it not for the better. Riff raff has come to town and the churches seem to be comfortable and complacent. Has God quit working in this community or has His people stopped seeking Him? For the most part the characters are the same, with a few additions, which is why I would recommend reading Grace Like A River Flows first. And speaking of characters, this is one thing I appreciate about this author, he develops the characters very well. You come to know them personally. I feel like they could walk off the page. Secondly I love how the author use believable characters to show ways in which God works in our lives even when we may not see it or feel it. So this 2nd book starts off with a need for God to move, but as a reader I was feeling doubtful and discouraged. But remember this is only the beginning of the story. Keep reading.


Stella Potts

5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Glenco and It's Residents

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2020


This book is a Sequel to Grace Like A River Flows. The Author writes his books in the mode of someone telling a story instead of a first person POV. The main character here is Reagan, the Pastor of Glenco Community Church. This is a story of Faith and victories for the town, of great loss and great love. It will make you laugh at some of the shenanigans and make you cry at the suffering. All in all it is a story of real life. It also has a strong salvation message which I especially appreciated. If you have suffered loss in your life and ever questioned God’s love for you then you will be able to empathize with Reagan. It also has romance that I thoroughly enjoyed. You will enjoy this book much more if you have read the first book in the series. You can get acquainted with the characters and the situations in the town and most of the characters by first reading Grace Like A River Flows.